Author Archives: Willmar Public Library

2016 Pulitzer Prize Winners

Fiction The Sympathizer, by Viet Thanh Nguyen A layered immigrant tale told in the wry, confessional voice of a “man of two minds” — and two countries, Vietnam and the United States. History Custer’s Trials: A Life on the Frontier … Continue reading

Posted in Readers' Advisory | Tagged , , , , | Comments Off on 2016 Pulitzer Prize Winners

Books to Read Before They Hit Theaters 2016

Posted in Readers' Advisory | Tagged , , | Comments Off on Books to Read Before They Hit Theaters 2016

Listen to an Audiobook from the Audie® Award Finalists

The Sleeper and the Spindle by Neil Gaiman               The Starling Project by Jeffrey Deaver               Why Not Me? by Mindy Kaling             … Continue reading

Posted in Readers' Advisory | Tagged , , , | Comments Off on Listen to an Audiobook from the Audie® Award Finalists

National Library Lovers Month

February was Library Lovers Month so we gave patrons the chance to tell us what they love about the library. With almost 400 responses, we could feel (and see) the love!             A drawing was … Continue reading

Posted in Contest/Giveaway/Awards | Tagged , , | Comments Off on National Library Lovers Month

2016 Reading Challenge Update

A Book You Can Finish in a Day – Between the World and Me by Ta-Nehisi Coates   At 176 pages, Between the World and Me is a quick read, but the power of Coates’ words will stay with you … Continue reading

Posted in Readers' Advisory | Tagged , , , , | Comments Off on 2016 Reading Challenge Update

2016 Edgar Award Nominations

The Edgar Awards, named after Edgar Allan Poe, are awarded by the Mystery Writers of America for distinguished work in the mystery genre. The winners will be announced April 28th.  Best Novel The Strangler Vine by M.J. Carter The Lady … Continue reading

Posted in Readers' Advisory | Comments Off on 2016 Edgar Award Nominations

New Books for the Week of February 1, 2016: Focus on Nonfiction

Preserving Family Recipes: How to Save and Celebrate Your Food Traditions by Valerie J. Frey   This book is a guide for gathering, adjusting, supplementing, and safely preserving family recipes and for interviewing relatives, collecting oral histories, and conducting kitchen … Continue reading

Posted in Readers' Advisory | Comments Off on New Books for the Week of February 1, 2016: Focus on Nonfiction

New Books for the Week of January 24, 2016

Keeper of the Stars by Robin Lee Hatcher   When her mother died from pneumonia, Penny Cartwright was heartbroken. But now, after burying her younger brother just 12 years later, she is devastated. Anger, guilt, and sorrow cloud Penny’s mind, and … Continue reading

Posted in Readers' Advisory | Comments Off on New Books for the Week of January 24, 2016

New Books for the Week of January 17, 2016

KooKooLand by Gloria Norris   In the tradition of The Glass Castle and With or Without You, a bracingly funny and chilling true crime memoir about a girl’s gutsy journey to escape her charismatic yet cruel father’s reign–an unforgettable story … Continue reading

Posted in Readers' Advisory | Comments Off on New Books for the Week of January 17, 2016

2016 Reading Challenge

I don’t know about you, but I like to challenge myself. Whether it is lifting more weight at the gym than last time or cooking a more delicious pasta sauce than ever before, there is something about a challenge that … Continue reading

Posted in Readers' Advisory | Comments Off on 2016 Reading Challenge