Author Archives: Willmar Public Library

New Books for the Week of February 1, 2016: Focus on Nonfiction

Preserving Family Recipes: How to Save and Celebrate Your Food Traditions by Valerie J. Frey   This book is a guide for gathering, adjusting, supplementing, and safely preserving family recipes and for interviewing relatives, collecting oral histories, and conducting kitchen … Continue reading

Posted in Readers' Advisory | Leave a comment

New Books for the Week of January 24, 2016

Keeper of the Stars by Robin Lee Hatcher   When her mother died from pneumonia, Penny Cartwright was heartbroken. But now, after burying her younger brother just 12 years later, she is devastated. Anger, guilt, and sorrow cloud Penny’s mind, and … Continue reading

Posted in Readers' Advisory | Leave a comment

New Books for the Week of January 17, 2016

KooKooLand by Gloria Norris   In the tradition of The Glass Castle and With or Without You, a bracingly funny and chilling true crime memoir about a girl’s gutsy journey to escape her charismatic yet cruel father’s reign–an unforgettable story … Continue reading

Posted in Readers' Advisory | Comments Off on New Books for the Week of January 17, 2016

2016 Reading Challenge

I don’t know about you, but I like to challenge myself. Whether it is lifting more weight at the gym than last time or cooking a more delicious pasta sauce than ever before, there is something about a challenge that … Continue reading

Posted in Readers' Advisory | Comments Off on 2016 Reading Challenge

Winter Reading

“Book Your Winter Getaway”, the annual winter reading program sponsored by the Pioneerland Library System and its member libraries, runs now through March 11th. The program, open to ages 18 and beyond, is held every year during the winter months … Continue reading

Posted in Programs | Comments Off on Winter Reading

New Books for the Week of November 9, 2015

The Promise by Robert Crais           Elvis Cole and Joe Pike find themselves working together on the case of a missing woman that leads them to encounter drug traffickers and war veterans. Read the latest by … Continue reading

Posted in Readers' Advisory | Comments Off on New Books for the Week of November 9, 2015

New Books for the Week of November 2, 2015

The Crossing by Michael Connelly           Harry Bosch left the LAPD six months ago but now has been asked to help his personal defense attorney on a case. The puzzling murder case puts Harry on the … Continue reading

Posted in Readers' Advisory | Comments Off on New Books for the Week of November 2, 2015

New Books for the Week of October 26, 2015

Depraved Heart by Patricia Cornwell           Dr. Kay Scarpetta receives a video on her phone that reveals secrets about her niece while working on another case. Unsure who she can trust, Scarpetta must make difficult decisions … Continue reading

Posted in Readers' Advisory | Comments Off on New Books for the Week of October 26, 2015

New Books for the Week of October 19, 2015

Rogue Lawyer by John Grisham          Sebastian Rudd defends people other lawyers won’t because he believes everyone is entitled to a fair trial. Rogue Lawyer tells the story of various clients he represents and of Rudd himself, … Continue reading

Posted in Readers' Advisory | Comments Off on New Books for the Week of October 19, 2015

New Books for the Week of October 12, 2015

City on Fire by Garth Risk Hallberg           City on Fire is told from multiple viewpoints of various people living in New York City in 1977. All the characters are somehow tied to a shooting in … Continue reading

Posted in Readers' Advisory | Comments Off on New Books for the Week of October 12, 2015