2016 Edgar Award Nominations

The Edgar Awards, named after Edgar Allan Poe, are awarded by the Mystery Writers of America for distinguished work in the mystery genre. The winners will be announced April 28th.  Best Novel The Strangler Vine by M.J. Carter The Lady From Zagreb by Philip Kerr Life or Death by Michael Robotham Let Me Die in…
Read More

New Books For The Week Of February 1, 2016: Focus On Nonfiction

Preserving Family Recipes: How to Save and Celebrate Your Food Traditions by Valerie J. Frey   This book is a guide for gathering, adjusting, supplementing, and safely preserving family recipes and for interviewing relatives, collecting oral histories, and conducting kitchen visits to document family food traditions from the everyday to special occasions.     The…
Read More

New Books For The Week Of January 24, 2016

Keeper of the Stars by Robin Lee Hatcher   When her mother died from pneumonia, Penny Cartwright was heartbroken. But now, after burying her younger brother just 12 years later, she is devastated. Anger, guilt, and sorrow cloud Penny’s mind, and the last thing she wants is to be reminded of her pain—but that’s exactly what…
Read More

New Books For The Week Of January 17, 2016

KooKooLand by Gloria Norris   In the tradition of The Glass Castle and With or Without You, a bracingly funny and chilling true crime memoir about a girl’s gutsy journey to escape her charismatic yet cruel father’s reign–an unforgettable story of violence, love, and, ultimately, triumph.     Secret Sisters by Jayne Ann Krentz  …
Read More

2016 Reading Challenge

I don’t know about you, but I like to challenge myself. Whether it is lifting more weight at the gym than last time or cooking a more delicious pasta sauce than ever before, there is something about a challenge that really gets me motivated.  So why not try a reading challenge? A quick Google search…
Read More